Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry-Potter-and-the-Prisoner-of-Azkaban

by J.K. Rowling

Published: 8th July 1999

by Bloomsbury

Rating: 🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

Synopsis: The third book in the Harry Potter series sees Harry returning to Hogwarts looking over his shoulder. Seemingly haunted by the ill-omened ‘Grim’, Harry tries to focus on dodging dementors, helping Hagrid and quality quidditch. It doesn’t help however, when Harry learns notorious mass-murderer and Voldemort’s right hand man, Sirius Black, is out to complete the job Voldemort failed 12 years ago…

♥ What I loved ♥

Prisoner of Azkaban has long been my favourite Harry Potter book and when I decided to re-read the series I remembered why. So many of my most beloved aspects of Harry Potter are introduced in this book: The Marauder’s map, Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs, patronuses, Hogsmeade, the Firebolt, It’s also the introduction of some big characters in Goblet of Fire with Cedric Diggory and Cho Chang both facing off against Harry in quidditch (and who doesn’t love Pigwigeon?!) It also has the big twist at the end which sent my 11 year old brain into a tail spin. The pacing of the book is spot on and there are a myriad of new settings (snowy Hogsmeade, the plush rooms of the Leaky Cauldron, and the musky divination room) as well as some unsettling feelings emerging: guilt, jealousy and a the need for vengeance.

💀 Bad bits 💀

Are there any bad bits to Prisoner of Azkaban? I really don’t think so. I’ve thrown the question around in my mind, picking up and discarding ideas and tried to come up with something. I managed the spectacular number of 2. 2 things I didn’t think were quite as brilliant as the rest of the book.

  1. The time turner – When I read this as a child, the implications of Hermione being able to manipulate time had no baring me. She used to get to the her classes! Good for her! And oh, it came in handy in the end to save Sirius – that’s lucky! It still doesn’t really bother me that much but my friends point out how conveniently the time turner turns up for one book and then is never seen or mentioned again. Hmmm. Oh well!
  2. I don’t know. The dementors are kind of like ring wraiths I suppose? That’s the best I could wrangle out!

🌟 Cherished Character 🌟

Part of the reason I love Prisoner of Azkaban so much is it introduces my all time favourite Harry Potter character: Sirius Black. But, since he only appears towards the end of the book, I’m going to choose Hermione. We’ve always known Hermione is a know-it-all teachers pet but here we begin to see all the facets of her personality. She shows her logical and practical side, dismissing Professor Trelawney’s wild and oft-erroneous predictions. But her ever compassionate nature shines through when helping Hagrid with the Buckbeak case. She even makes the hard choices even if it means risking her friendship with Ron and Harry by telling Professor McGonagall about the Firebolt. We could all stand to be a little more like Hermione and I truly believe she is a literary heroine on par with Lizzie Bennet and Jane Eyre.

🐙 Magic Moment 🐙

‘I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.’

Prisoner of Azkaban is definitely worthy of my first Gold Bear award!

 Gold bear award

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire | book bear blog

  2. Pingback: 🐝 Top Ten Tuesday 🐝 | book bear blog

Leave a Reply

