Coming Around to my Kindle

Bear Buys

I used to grumpily sneer at e-readers as a pompous (but proud) purist. My friends who owned them, would try to extol their virtues to me but I would usually reel off my practised repertoire of:

They’re not real books!

But they don’t smell!

Nothing can beat the feel of paper in your hands!

You don’t get to peruse bookshops looking for the perfect copy!

But they don’t smell!

I still stand by these somewhat, but on learning that I was going to pack up my life and move to Asia to teach for a year and realising I couldn’t very well haul my extensive and perfectly preserved library (I wince when other people even stare at my books for too long, let alone pick them up) to a new continent. So I finally relented and asked my parents for a Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas. I wouldn’t say I was immediately smitten, but I have come to realise how useful these little virtual libraries are! I quickly downloaded some free classics such as Lady Chatterly’s Lover, Jane Eyre and my beloved Emma.

Next, I purchased the entire Harry Potter series on Pottermore and decided the next thing I needed was a kindle cover. I scoured Etsy and Amazon and finally stumbled upon a ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ kindle cover!

Kindle coverKindle interior

‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ kindle cover by Klevercase

I purchased mine from notonthehighstreet and I’ve had so many compliments for it! It really is beautiful, and pretty hardy too! It’s been around the UK, Korea, Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia and even the jungles of Borneo! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a new cover. You can get them for any major e-reader (Kindle, Nook etc) and they come in various designs (I think the Pride and Prejudice and the Jungle Book ones are particular adorable!) I’ve even heard you can design your own!

If I had to pick, I would go with physical books every time. But as the ever-sagacious Stephen Fry prudently observed, ‘books are no more threatened by Kindle than stairs than by elevators.’

 I’ve come to realise I see books as my babies; I want to look after them, keep them safe and protect them from heathens who would fold the top of the page (gasp! 👾) as a bookmark. My kindle is my bro. My brother in arms. Sam to my Frodo. Reliable, full of guidance and always there when I need it. Good on ya Kindle!

Leave a Reply

