🐝 Top Ten Tuesday 🐝

So I’ve decided to muscle in on The Broke and the Bookish‘s fantastic Top Ten Tuesday meme! This week it’s…

🌈 Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So 🌈

One thing I really appreciate about my Kindle is that you can highlight text and passages that move you and it’s saved on your device for you to revisit when you will. I don’t write in my physical books so if I come across something special, I just tend to think ‘Oh wow, that’s incredible! I should remember that…’ and then promptly forget it and move on. Anyway here are my quotes that I’ve squirrelled away on my Kindle since I got it last Christmas.

The Goldfinch

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

“A great sorrow, and one that I am only beginning to understand: we don’t get to choose our own hearts. We can’t make ourselves want what’s good for us or what’s good for other people.”

Theo Decker in The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt. 

If only we could! But, alas, I think this is part of what makes us human.

Dracula

Dracula and Other Horror Classics - Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection (Paperback)

Dracula by Bram Stoker

“But a stranger in a strange land, he is no one. Men know him not, and to know not is to care not for.”

Count Dracula in Dracula, Bram Stoker.

This is why I think education is so important. Why should you care about something you don’t know about?  Global warming, gender inequality, the refugee crisis… I think if these issues were truly understood, there would be even more people standing up, wanting to change the world.

The Second Coming

W B Yeats - Collected Poems (Paperback)

Collected Poems by W.B.Yeats

“The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity.”

 The Second Coming, Y.B.Yeats

In these dark and tragic times, it’s easy to feel like were being engulfed by the ‘worst’but …

The Diary of a Young Girl

The Diary of a Young Girl: Definitive Edition (Paperback)

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

“I keep my ideals, because in spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart.”
The Diary of a Young Girl, Anne Frank.
 
Anne Frank stood face to face with the absolute worst of humanity and still thought this. I believe it too. You just have to look for the good, and even amongst the death and destruction, you won’t have to look hard.
🐝

The Diary of a Young Girl

“Whenever you’re feeling lonely or sad, try going to the loft on a beautiful day and looking outside. Not at the houses and the rooftops, but at the sky. As long as you can look fearlessly at the sky, you’ll know that you’re pure within and will find happiness once more.” 

The Diary of a Young Girl, Anne Frank.

Wasn’t she amazing? Such profundity for a teenager.

Harry Potter

 

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” 

Sirius Black in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K.Rowling.

Sirius knows best! A living being is a living being and deserves respect, no matter its status.

🐝

Harry Potter

“Lord Voldemort’s gift for spreading discord and enmity is very great. We can fight it only by showing an equally strong bond of friendship and trust. Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open.”

Professor Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K.Rowling.

You can replace ‘Voldemort’ for any organisation that deals in hatred and intolerance and the solution would still be the same. We’re fighting the same evils, whether we’re in France, Iraq or America, and we’re stronger together.

🐝 🐝 🐝 

I enjoyed this post a lot more than I thought I was going to. It was really cathartic to go back and read over the quotes I had marked out while reading and it’s amazing how relevant they are to our everyday lives, even those that are over 100 years old! Please leave a link to your TTT in the comments for me to read yours! 

 

6 thoughts on “🐝 Top Ten Tuesday 🐝

Leave a Reply

